School & College Research Hubs and Research Associate Deans

U-M is home to 19 schools and colleges, along with a top-ranked medical center and campuses in Dearborn and Flint, where faculty, staff and students lead important research and scholarship activity.

Schools and colleges from across the University of Michigan conduct groundbreaking research. Research associate deans from each school and college review and revise research policies and initiatives, while offering guidance to the Office of the Vice President for Research when reviewing and applying certain policies and procedures. Please use the links below to connect with each unit’s research hub and to connect with its research associate dean.

A. Alfred Taubman College of Architecture & Urban Planning: Kathy Velikov


Penny W. Stamps School of Art & Design: Dylan AT Miner


Stephen M. Ross School of Business: Roman Kapuscinski


UM-Dearborn: Armen Zakarian


School of Dentistry: Vesa Kaartinen


School of Education: Michael Bastedo


College of Engineering: Eric Michielssen


School for Environment and Sustainability: Bill Currie


UM-Flint: Ken Sylvester


School of Information: Paul Resnick


Institute for Social Research: Ken Kollman


School of Kinesiology: Greg Cartee


Law School: Ekow Yankah


Library: Alexa Pearce


Life  Sciences Institute: Bing Ye


College of Literature, Science, and the Arts: Greg Dowd (Humanities), Barbra Meek (Social Sciences) and Patricia Wittkopp (Natural Sciences)


Medical School: Steven Kunkel


School of Music, Theatre & Dance: Karen Fournier


School of Nursing: Crystal Patil


College of Pharmacy: Duxin Sun


School of Public Health: John Meeker


Gerald R. Ford School of Public Policy: Jeff Morenoff


Rackham School of Graduate Studies: Dave Sept


School of Social Work: Matthew J. Smith